FORUM CLOSED, PLEASE REGISTER AT FORUM.SIO2INTERACTIVE.COM
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Importing to blender from other 3D drawing software

4 posters

Go down

Importing to blender from other 3D drawing software Empty Importing to blender from other 3D drawing software

Post  aputman Tue Mar 17, 2009 10:32 am

I'm new to using blender, sio2 and 3D graphics in general. I've found that wings3D has a much lower learning curve than blender as far as building objects, adding textures and etc.

I've been able to export drawings as .3ds from wings3D and then import them into blender with little issue (granted this is with no textures) and from there using tutorial2 I can get my drawing to display.

However, if I try to add textures in wings3D and then export to blender using .3ds I can get the object to appear in blender (granted without the texture) but when I export to .sio2 it fails when it tries to find the material file. I checked the .sio2 zip and saw there was not file in the images folder. I tried to manually put in my texture, but I tutorial2 still fails.

Should I be attempting to do texturing in a different tutorial? I haven't moved on from 2 because I wanted to get this basic proof of concept to work.

the texture is a .bmp with 512x512 dimensions

thanks

aputman

Back to top Go down

Importing to blender from other 3D drawing software Empty Re: Importing to blender from other 3D drawing software

Post  sio2interactive Tue Mar 17, 2009 5:25 pm

SIO2 does not support .bmp, check tutorial03 for more information...
sio2interactive
sio2interactive

http://sio2interactive.com

Back to top Go down

Importing to blender from other 3D drawing software Empty Re: Importing to blender from other 3D drawing software

Post  aputman Tue Mar 17, 2009 8:15 pm

I've been messing around with tutorial03 all day, and I can't get a texture to appear on my object once I have loaded the texture.