FORUM CLOSED, PLEASE REGISTER AT FORUM.SIO2INTERACTIVE.COM
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Using the bullet character controller

3 posters

Go down

Using the bullet character controller Empty Using the bullet character controller

Post  brokenPlatypus Tue Jul 28, 2009 11:54 am

Hello everyone! I'm new to all of this, having only worked in 2d before, but playing around with SIO2 has been incredibly fun and fairly easy so far. I have been toying with tutorial14, trying to turn it into a very simple platformer whenre yoshi can run around the scene and collect apples with his tongue. I've removed the camera animation and gotten yoshi to run around the scene when I move my finger using setLinearVelocity, which was incredibly easy to do (I am loving SIO2!)

He's moving where I want him to, but the physics being applied are not really what I want. I would like him to move more like a traditional 3d platformer character, where his speed should be fairly constant and snappy - not really affected by terrain. Going uphill should be just as easy as going down and when standing still he shouldn't slide downhill. I would like him to still be able to interact with other physics objects in the scene however, like pushing apples away when he runs through them and such.

I was looking at the bullet documentation and it seems like their character controller (btKinematicCharacterController) is designed to solve my problem exactly.

Is there an easy way to define an object in SIO2 to use this from within Blender, or do I need to remove the physics from the character object in blender and create the btKinematicCharacterController myself in my loading code?

Thanks for any guidance!

brokenPlatypus

Back to top Go down

Using the bullet character controller Empty Re: Using the bullet character controller

Post  goldfrapp0x0309 Tue Jul 28, 2009 3:53 pm