FORUM CLOSED, PLEASE REGISTER AT FORUM.SIO2INTERACTIVE.COM
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

C++ or Objective C

2 posters

Go down

C++ or Objective C Empty C++ or Objective C

Post  riruilo Tue Sep 30, 2008 3:19 am

Hi everybody!

I'm new to iphone development but usually I program game in OpenGL and C++.

My question is: If I use this engine, should I use C++ or Objective C?

Thanks a lot.

riruilo

Back to top Go down

C++ or Objective C Empty Re: C++ or Objective C

Post  sio2interactive Tue Sep 30, 2008 4:24 am

Well that's the great thing about objective-C, you can have in the same file (.mm) Obj-C, Obj-C++, C & C++ code and compile just fine, me too at the beginning as was skeptical but... I had also the same questions as you when I first start coding on the iPhone and now well... Check the source tree of (ie:) the template project in SIO2:

SIO2 = Pure C ANSI ISO 99

Bullet = Pure C++

The OpenGL ES window on an iPhone + (IO) = Obj-C

You can code code your game entirely in C++ if you want to...

Actually me I would suggest you C, but that's my own preference Wink, cuz at the end of the day a game its all about control & speed, and I feel that pure C give me all that...

I remember that when I first start creating engines I was also all C++, but I remember that one day one guy challenge me and say "that's impossible to create a 3D engine in C++", and I say "ho really?" and start doing some tests just for fun, and finally I never get back to C++ for the engine code only pure C and SIO2 is my 3rd engine. Wink

Checkout the SIO2 code that might give you some ideas Wink
sio2interactive
sio2interactive

http://sio2interactive.com

Back to top Go down

Post  riruilo Tue Sep 30, 2008 4:39 am

Thanks for your reply.

But I have some questions after reading your reply.